Forums Search Login Register
Login
Username
Password
New Posts Todays Posts Find Users Posts Unanswered Threads Help Mark Forums as Read

Thread Options  Subscribe to this thread Subscribed Users  Add Reply 
Trophies:
I'm not a complete novice. I've been using the command-line since pre-PC days, some 40 years ago. I was an early Macintosh user, and then spent most of the last 30 years managing Windows servers and networks. I've played with the Linux command-line from time to time for the past 5 years. Nevertheless, I'm a novice concerning Linux, and particularly Ubuntu Server.

The goal is to replace a Windows Server featuring Hyper-V host, and three Server VM Guests. The new hardware is based on a SuperMicro MBD-H12SSL-NT motherboard with 128GB RAM. This motherboard does NOT include the RAID controller, but rather interfaces the disks directly. The CPU is a single Epyc 7262, Rome, 7002 series, with 8 cores.

When I say "Need General Direction", I'm asking for help to find documentation on ZFS and using it to install Ubuntu Server as a VM Host using as many built-in tools as possible.

My current understanding is that it's possible to boot from ZFS. It's possible to create a VM Host using KVM and QEMU without using a third party Host. It would be ideal to find technical manuals on these specific subjects and white papers which include example procedures. Also, I welcome your comments, suggestions, and advice.

I've spent a few weeks investigating and now feel totally confused over conflicting information. I recognize that ZFS is considered experimental on Ubuntu Server and that some tools are non-existent, for example to add additional disks after the original configuration. However, it appears to me that it's possible to boot from a Live flash drive, define the ZFS array, install GRUB, and then install Ubuntu Server.