Forums Search Login Register
Login
Username
Password
New Posts Todays Posts Find Users Posts Unanswered Threads Help Mark Forums as Read

Thread Options  Subscribe to this thread Subscribed Users  Add Reply 
Trophies:
Okay. I've got several years of experience in Linux so I'm not actually a newbie. I've used Linux Mint for several years and am now using Ubuntu (same HOME-partition).

My computer consists of 3 harddrives. I've got an ssd containing only the system, a 1.8 TB harddrive split up into several partitions containing HOME-partition, DATA-partition, "Windows 10"-partition and data-partition to Windows and the a 300 GB Maxtor harddrive for data.

To get some sort of privacy I'm using VeraCrypt on several partitions.

Now the initial symptoms:
my system has during a long period of time (months) taken more that 1 minute to load. To fix that I tried several options in the BIOS (motherboard H81M-D PLUS). But nothing helped.

A deeper explanation of the long boot-time is several second between power on and going into actual reading from the harddrives / boot-menu appearing. I couldn't figure out what caused this initial booting to take such a long time. So I though maybe it was some update from Ubuntu that made the system search a long time for information (a security-update maybe). So I figured maybe some security-update now was forcing me to update my configuration from a MBT to GPT. So I made the system convert all the MBRs on my harddrives.
All the conversions went great except my 300 GM harddrive. There was some sort of minor error during the conversion so I had to cancel the conversion (later on I managed to convert it through a GUI-utility, though).